Florida's Strict DUI Laws And Penalties
Florida has some of the strictest DUI laws in the country. Florida DUI law states that:
- Driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or more is illegal
- A first DUI offense can result in an administrative license suspension for 12 months
- Driving privileges (e.g., to and from work) can be restored 30 days after a DUI arrest
- DUI penalties can include interlock devices and vehicle forfeiture
- Neither drivers nor passengers are permitted to have an open container of alcohol
Possible DUI penalties include paying thousands of dollars in fines and restitution, driver license revocation and months or even years behind bars.
DUI charges are classified in one of two ways: Misdemeanors and felonies.
In Florida, anyone caught driving under the influence and causes damage to property or injures another is guilty of a first-degree misdemeanor with penalties of not more than a $1,000 fine or one year in prison.
First-Degree DUI Felonies
- DUI manslaughter/leaving the scene: "A driver convicted of DUI manslaughter who knew/should have known that an accident occurred and failed to give information or render aid is guilty of a first-degree felony." This carries up to a $10,000 fine and/or 30 years imprisonment.
- Vehicular homicide/leaving the scene: "A driver convicted of vehicular homicide who left the scene of an accident is guilty of a first-degree felony." This carries a penalty of no more than a $10,000 fine and/or 30-year prison sentence.
Third-Degree DUI Felonies
- Third DUI felony within 10 years: "Any person convicted of a third DUI within 10 years or a fourth or subsequent DUI commits a third-degree felony." The penalties include a fine of no more than $5,000 and/or 5 years imprisonment.
- DUI with bodily injury: "Any person who causes serious bodily injury while driving under the influence is guilty of a third-degree felony." Penalties include no more than a $5,000 fine and/or five years' imprisonment.
Knowledgeable Attorneys, Fighting For Your Rights
In reality, sometimes even the best people can make mistakes. When facing a DUI/DWI charge, you have the right to be represented by a qualified lawyer who can use their expert knowledge and experience to fight for your rights.
At Canan Law, our attorneys will fight for you, defending against every procedure and protecting every right you have. We often challenge sobriety test results and police procedures and help you get the best possible outcome for your case.
Want To Keep Your Driver's License? Time Is Running Out
It is also important to realize that a DUI charge also has an administrative component. You only have 10 days after a DUI arrest to contact the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to request a hearing on your license suspension and get an extension of your temporary license.
We Can Help. Don't Wait. Call 904-217-6209Today.
Contact our DUI attorneys to talk about your arrest. Call or contact us online. We offer competitive rates and a swift response.
Serving St. Johns and northeast Florida.