How Long Will Your Driver's License Be Suspended? It Depends.
There are many reasons why your driver's license may be suspended or revoked. Maybe you have accumulated too many points on your license; maybe you failed to pay child support.
One of the most common reasons however involves DUI offenses.
The severity of penalties and length of time you will be without a license generally depends on your record of previous DUI convictions on your criminal record.
First-Time DUI Offense
If this is your first DUI conviction, you will likely face a second-degree misdemeanor which can include up to 60 days in jail and/or a $500 fine.
A Second DUI Offense
Second DUI convictions are considered first-degree misdemeanors. Penalties include up to one year in prison and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
Three Or More DUI Offenses
Three or more drunk driving convictions is a third-degree felony with penalties of up to five years in prison and/or $5,000 fine.
If you are convicted of three or more traffic offenses within five years — such as DUI, driving with a suspended license, vehicular manslaughter, or more — you are considered a "habitual traffic offender" under Florida law and can face up to 10 years in prison.
You May Qualify For A Hardship License. We Can Help.
Living with a suspended license is no easy task, especially if you depend on your car to drive to your workplace and run other daily errands. But you may be able to request a hardship license if your car is your only means for completing these necessary tasks.
The experienced attorneys at Canan Law have the skills and experience to help you keep your driving privileges. Whether this is your first, second or third offense, let us help you.
Call us at 904-217-6209 or email us online today to find out how we can help you. Serving St. Johns County and northeast Florida.