Canan Law Canan Law
We're Here To Help 904-217-6209
We're Here To Help 904-217-6209
contact Menu

Changes to Florida PIP Law: What you need to know!

This story brought to you by Canan Law, voted best St. Augustine Attorney in 2012.

On January 1, 2013, a highly debated new PIP statute went into effect which severely limits your rights to obtain your benefits under your own insurance. This new Florida PIP law, which will create extensive additional lititation between insurance companies and medical care providers, is much more favorable for insurance companies than the people who are injured in automobile accidents.

The Florida legislature's changes in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) law were passed under the guise of preventing insurance fraud, but in reality hurt multiple non-insurance groups in Florida, including some medical providers and especially injured motorists.

Current Florida PIP Law

Current Florida Law requires all drivers purchase Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance. Florida requires each driver to carry at least $10,000 in PIP coverage, which allows a Florida motorist to receive medical benefits if involved in an accident, even if the accident is their fault. PIP coverage pays for 80% of any medical bills, and 60% of lost wages, up to $10,000, and also provides a death benefit.

New Law in effect January 1, 2013:

1. As part of the changes, individuals injured in car accidents will have only 14 days to seek initial treatment.

Previous PIP policy placed no time limit on treatments. Under the new law, if treatment is sought after two weeks, nothing will be reimbursed by the insurance company.

2. The initial medical treatment must be lawfully provided, supervised, ordered, or prescribed by a licensed physician (M.D.), D.O. (Doctor of Osteopath), Dentist or Chiropractic Physician, or provided in a hospital or in a facility that owns or is wholly owned by a hospital.

Massage therapists and acupuncturists will no longer be allowed to treat patients under PIP. These types of treatment will either have to be paid for out of pocket, under a letter of protection, or by health insurance.

3. PIP will only pay for follow up services if there was initial medical treatment within fourteen (14) days and the following occurs:

  • the follow up services are on the referral from an M.D., D.O., D.C and;
  • the follow up services are consistent with the underlying medical diagnosis rendered on the initial visit.

4. This follow up treatment must be supervised, ordered, or prescribed by a medical doctor, chiropractor physician, doctor of osteopath, a dentist, physician assistant or ARNP (advanced registered nurse practitioner).

5. If the above referenced criteria are met, there are two (2) levels of PIP medical benefits:

  • $10,000 for an emergency medical condition and
  • $2,500.00 for treatment not for any initially diagnosed emergency medical condition.

Only those with serious injuries are eligible for the higher limit, while those with less severe injuries will receive only up to $2,500.

6. The Statute defines "emergency medical condition" as: medical conditions manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity, which may include severe pain, such that the absence of immediate medical attention would be reasonably expected to result in any of the following:

  • Serious jeopardy to the patient health.
  • Serious impairment to bodily functions.
  • Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.

In summary, the changes to the Florida PIP statute will drastically reduce the insurance protection injured people will receive. It will also result in the denial of valid claims leaving consumers to pay their own medical bills and create extensive litigation between medical care providers and insurance companies over what is an "emergency medical condition."

The 14-day limit sets an extremely small window for injured motorists to seek medical treatment, and thus many drivers who hesitate to seek help immediately will likely be shut out of PIP compensation. It is absolutely critical for those injured in auto accidents to contact a Canan Law attorney immediately following an accident to ensure their rights are protected.

Call us or stop by our offices at 43 Cincinnati Avenue in downtown St. Augustine if you have any questions about pedestrian accidents or personal injury cases.

Canan Law, the most respected team of attorneys in St. Augustine, keeps you informed with blog posts discussing legal terms and Florida court cases that matter to you. Our firm specializes in auto accidents, personal injury and medical malpractice cases. Ask your legal question today with our website's live chat feature!

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For a Response

Reach Out To Us For Sound Legal Guidance

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Canan Law Attorneys

Canan Law 1030 N. Ponce de Leon Blvd. St. Augustine, FL 32084 Phone: 904-217-6209 Fax: 904-824-9269 Map & Directions

Review Us