A large part of the criminal practice for Canan Law attorneys focuses on DUI defense. Florida has some of the strictest laws in the country regarding driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI). Prompt action by your attorney can impact a DUI defense. For example, your attorney has only 10 days after a DUI arrest to contact the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), request a hearing on your license suspension, and get an extension of your temporary license.
Florida DUI law states that:
– Blood alcohol concentration illegal limit is 0.08%
– A first DUI offense can result in an administrative license suspension for 12 months
– Driving privileges (e.g., to and from work) can be restored 30 days after a DUI arrest
– DUI penalties can include interlock and forfeiture
– Both drivers and passengers are not permitted to have an open container of alcohol
When a driver gets behind the wheel while they are under the influence of drugs or alcohol, they’re putting not only their own lives at stake, but also the lives of others. That is why the justice system comes down hard on those who are charged with such offenses. Possible penalties include paying thousands of dollars in fines, paying even more in restitution in addition to having your driver’s license revoked and spending months or even years in prison. DUI charges are classified in one of two ways:
- Any person convicted of a third DUI within 10 years or a fourth or subsequent DUI commits a Third Degree Felony (not more than $5,000 fine and/or 5 years imprisonment).
- Any person who causes serious bodily injury while driving under the influence is guilty of a Third Degree Felony (not more than $5,000 fine and/or 5 years imprisonment) or if habitual/violent felony offender
- DUI/Manslaughter: Second Degree Felony (not more than $10,000 fine and/or 15 years imprisonment).
- DUI Manslaughter/Leaving the Scene: A driver convicted of DUI Manslaughter who knew/should have known accident occurred; and failed to give information or render aid is guilty of a First Degree Felony (not more than $10,000 fine and/or 30 years imprisonment).
- Vehicular Homicide: Second Degree Felony (not more than $10,000 fine and/or 15 years imprisonment).
- Vehicular Homicide/Leaving the Scene: A driver convicted of vehicular homicide who left the scene of an accident is guilty of a First Degree Felony (nor more than $10,000 fine and/or 30 years imprisonment).
- Any person who causes property damage or personal injury to another while driving under the influence is guilty of a First Degree Misdemeanor (not more than $1,000 fine or 1-year imprisonment).
A DUI charge has a criminal component and an administrative component before the DMV. You’ll want a skilled criminal defense attorney for both. For your convenience, we have provided an in-depth overview of DUI information and some DUI criminal defense FAQs on this website. Canan Law attorneys offer competitive rates and a swift response to defend your rights in a DUI case.
In reality, sometimes even the best people can make mistakes. If you are facing a DUI/DWI offense charge, you have the right to be represented by a quality lawyer who can use their expert knowledge and experience to fight for your rights. Our attorneys can help you challenge sobriety test results and police procedures and help you get the best possible outcome for your case.
If you have been charged with a DUI or another criminal offense, a swift response from your attorney may be necessary. Please call or contact one of our St. Augustine DUI attorneys to schedule your initial consultation and confidential case evaluation.