There are many reasons why your driver’s license may be suspended or revoked, such as traffic offenses and accumulated traffic points on a license. Sometimes a license suspension is part of a penalty for a crime, such as driving under the influence (DUI) or failure to pay child support. Whatever the reason for the suspension may be, a driver whose license has been suspended or revoked is strictly prohibited by law from driving on any road. If you break this law, you could face substantial consequences.
The severity of the penalty depends on your record of previous convictions. If this is your first conviction, you may face a second-degree misdemeanor penalty of 60 days in prison and/or a fine of about $500. A second conviction, considered a first-degree misdemeanor, is penalized with one year in prison and/or a fine of about $1,000. Three or more convictions result in third-degree felony penalties of up to five years in prison and/or about $5,000 in fines. If you receive three or more felony charges, you are at risk of being considered by the state of Florida to be a “habitual felony offender” and could face up to 10 years in jail. If you are convicted of three or more traffic offenses within five years—such as DUI, driving with a suspended license, vehicular manslaughter, or more—you are considered a “habitual traffic offender” by Florida law and can face up to 10 years of imprisonment.
Living with a suspended license is no easy task, especially if you depend on your car to drive to your workplace and run other daily errands. But you may be able to request a hardship license if your car is your only means for completing these necessary tasks. That’s where we come in. The experienced attorneys at Canan Law can not only pull together the best case against your driving on a suspended license charge, but also help you get the proper transportation you need to continue your daily responsibilities. Call or email the St. Johns County driver’s license attorneys at Canan Law today to schedule your initial consultation.