How Long Will Your Driver’s License Be Suspended? It Depends.
First-Time DUI Offense
If this is your first DUI conviction, you will likely face a first-degree misdemeanor that can include up to a year in county jail and a $1,000 fine. You may be able to attend DUI school to help mitigate your charges.
A Second DUI Offense
Second DUI convictions are still first-degree misdemeanors but can carry additional penalties including stiffer fines and the requirement of the ignition interlock device.
Three Or More DUI Offenses
Three or more drunk driving convictions is a third-degree felony with penalties of up to five years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
If you are convicted of three or more traffic offenses within five years — such as DUI, driving with a suspended license, vehicular manslaughter or more — you are considered a “habitual traffic offender” under Florida law and can face up to five years in prison.
You May Qualify For A Hardship License. We Can Help.
Living with a suspended license is no easy task, primarily if you depend on your car to drive to your workplace and run other daily errands. However, you may be able to request a hardship license if your vehicle is your only means of completing these necessary tasks.
The experienced attorneys at Canan Law have the skills and experience to help you keep your driving privileges. Whether this is your first, second or third offense; let us help you.
Call us at 904-824-9402 or email us online today to find out how we can help you. Serving St. Augustine, St. Johns County and Northeast Florida.