St. Augustine Motor Vehicle Accident Attorney
Car, Motorcycle & Truck Accidents in Florida
Being the victim of a motor vehicle accident (MVA) is more than an inconvenience—it is costly, time-consuming, and frightening. Moreover, if you were injured in the accident, the consequences are potentially long-reaching and life-altering.
If you have been the victim of a motor vehicle accident on I-95 or anywhere in St. Johns County or Northeast Florida, it is imperative that you take action quickly. At Canan Law, we can help protect your rights and safeguard your future. Do not discuss the matter with an insurance company or sit down for a formal interview with the police without first consulting the topic with a car accident lawyer in St. Augustine.
Types of Motor Vehicle Accident Cases We Handle
At Canan Law, our St. Augustine car accident lawyers have more than 60 years of combined experience representing victims of motor vehicle accidents and other serious personal injury matters. People in our community who have been involved with or injured by an unexpected crash or collision trust us to do what’s right for them—to protect their rights, their reputations, and their financial stability.
We help people just like you recover from a variety of different types of auto accidents, including those involving:
- I-95 car crashes
- Drunk drivers
- Texting and distracted drivers
- Hit-and-run collisions
- Rear-end collisions
- Fatal car accidents
- Pedestrian-car collisions
- Motorcycle crashes
- Trucking collisions
- Boating and waterway accidents
No matter the circumstances of your accident, our firm is here to help. With decades of collective experience and more than 250 jury trials under our belt, we understand the unique intricacies and delicate nuances present in MVA cases. We leverage our extensive experience and legal skill, as well as our large resources and respected reputation, to help our clients navigate the legal process and fight for the compensation they need to heal.
How Car Accident Claims Work in Florida
Florida is what is known as a no-fault state. This means that after most typical car accidents, you must go through your own auto insurance company to recover compensation. Usually, you do this by filing a PIP claim.
PIP, or personal injury protection, is a mandatory form of insurance coverage in Florida. Every driver in the state is required to have at least $10,000 in PIP coverage. After an accident, PIP covers up to 80% of the injured person’s medical expenses, as well as up to 60% of their lost wages. However, your benefits under PIP are limited if your injuries do not constitute an emergency.
Additionally, under Florida’s 14-day PIP rule, you must seek medical attention within 14 days of the accident to be covered by PIP insurance. If you fail to see a doctor or another medical provider within two weeks of the crash, you cannot file a PIP claim, and you could lose your right to benefits.
For a free consultation about your rights following a motor vehicle accident, contact Canan Law today. Call (904) 849-2266 or use our simple online form to set up an appointment with a professional St. Augustine car accident attorney.