St. Augustine Hit & Run Accident Attorney
Hit & Run Accidents in Florida
Hit-and-run accidents are some of the worst types of motor vehicle accidents. Drivers who cause motor vehicle collisions and then leave the scene of the accident without providing contact information are not only breaking the law, but they are also leaving victims with seemingly no recourse when it comes to recovering compensation.
Being involved in a hit-and-run accident can be devastating and, unfortunately, they are becoming more and more common throughout Northeast Florida. The good news is that you likely have one or several avenues of compensation available to you after a hit-and-run accident, even if the hit-and-run driver is never identified.
It is vital for victims of such incidents to pursue justice, demand just compensation, and, when possible, hold the perpetrator responsible for their actions. The legal team at Canan Law can help.
On This Page:
- Can You Still Recover Damages After a Hit & Run?
- Types of Compensation You Can Recover
- Hit & Run Accident FAQ
- What To Do After a Hit & Run Accident
Victims of hit-and-run accidents in Florida have several options when it comes to recovering compensation for their medical bills, lost wages, and other damages. First, under Florida’s no-fault system, you can file a personal injury protection (PIP) claim through your own insurance provider.
Here are some things you should know about PIP in Florida:
- PIP coverage is mandatory in Florida; all motorists must carry at least $10,000 in PIP coverage to legally drive
- You must seek medical attention within 14 days (two weeks) of the accident to be eligible to file a PIP claim
- PIP covers up to 80% of your medical expenses and up to 60% of your lost wages; it does not cover any non-economic losses, like pain and suffering
While PIP coverage offers some relief to victims of hit-and-run accidents, it is often not enough to fully compensate injured individuals for the losses they have endured.
Another possible avenue of compensation after a hit-and-run accident is uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage. Although UM/UIM insurance is not mandatory in Florida, you may choose to have this coverage (as well as bodily injury coverage) added to your policy.
UM/UIM insurance covers you if you are hit by someone who does not have the minimum required liability insurance or who only has the minimum liability coverage, and this is insufficient. In Florida, drivers are only required to carry a minimum of $10,000 in property damage liability and PIP, which is often not enough to cover the full cost of an accident victim’s injuries and other damages. By choosing to add UM/UIM insurance to your auto insurance policy, you can ensure that you are better protected in the event you are involved in a hit-and-run or injured by an uninsured or underinsured motorist.
We can help if you were the driver or passenger of the vehicle in a hit-and-run accident. We also can assist owners of a car that is hit while unoccupied or unattended. Additionally, if you were hit while walking or cycling by a driver who fled the scene, we can help you fight for compensation.
Our attorneys have experience helping hit-and-run accident victims obtain compensation for:
- Medical expenses
- Lost wages
- Pain and suffering
- Vehicle damage
- Punitive damages
If your loved one was killed in a hit-and-run accident, we can help you determine if you are entitled to wrongful death damages, such as funeral/burial expenses, lost income and support, and loss of love, companionship, guidance, and counsel.
We have the experience to successfully pursue all types of damages, from tracking down the owner or operator of the fleeing vehicle to dealing with insurance companies to filing uninsured motorist claims on your behalf; we can help you.
Q:What are the consequences for a hit-and-run driver?
A:For leaving a fatal crash, a hit-and-run driver faces a 30-year prison term and/or fine of up to $10,000. If the driver leaves injured persons behind, they may face 5 years in prison and up to a $5,000 fine. In cases where there is only damaged property and no injuries, the hit-and-run driver may face 60 days in jail and/or a fine of